Autonomous system
AS10273 FPL - Florida Power & Light Company
Unclassified ARIN
Summary
Florida Power & Light Company
FPL is Florida Power & Light Company, the largest electric utility in the United States by customer count and the principal subsidiary of NextEra Energy. AS10273 is the company's corporate network — an investor-owned utility's private estate, not a public agency and not an internet product.
What it's used for
FPL's own enterprise IT: corporate offices, generating plants and service centres across Florida, the business systems behind customer billing and outage management, and the internet-facing edge in front of them. The AS announces 27 IPv4 prefixes totalling roughly 131,100 addresses and no IPv6. Almost all of it is two legacy class-B allocations, 155.109.0.0/16 and 161.154.0.0/16, each also announced as its two /17 halves, with a tail of /23s and /24s carved out on top.
That covering-plus-more-specific pattern is a resilience choice: the /16 keeps a route alive whatever happens, while individual /23s and /24s can be pulled toward one upstream or another as sites move. It is the habit of a large, dispersed enterprise, not of a service provider.
Notable
This is an enterprise network. Roughly 131,000 addresses with only three observed BGP neighbours is decisive: an organisation that buys connectivity from a small number of carriers for redundancy and sells none. A wholesale carrier holding two /16s would show hundreds of adjacencies.
Do not read a utility as government: FPL is a regulated private company and its network is corporate infrastructure. Nor should you expect consumer addresses here — a customer paying an FPL bill online arrives from their own ISP.
This description is AI-generated, best-effort context — not authoritative, and provided without any guarantee of accuracy. Source, and how to suggest an edit.
Interconnection
Peering at a glance
Internet exchanges
No exchange port on file. Many exchanges publish no participant list, so this is not proof of absence.
Exchange presence is recorded rather than inferred: the directory collected by Packet Clearing House (https://www.pch.net/ixp/data) on 2026-11-06, licensed CC BY-NC-SA 3.0. Transit is inferred from observed BGP paths, never declared by either party.
Address space
Summary
IPv4 46 prefixes · 131K addresses IPv6 0 prefixes
| Country | Name | Prefixes |
|---|---|---|
| US | United States of America | 46 |
Registry
Allocation record
- Registry
- ARIN
- Handle
AS10273- Registry name
- FPL
- Registrant
- Florida Power & Light Company
- Abuse contact
- ARIN-ADMIN@NextEraEnergy.com
- Registered
- 1997-06-03
- Last changed
- 2016-03-18
- Allocation
- assigned
Declared
PeeringDB profile
- Name
- Florida Power & Light Company
- Scope
- Not Disclosed
- Traffic ratio
- Not Disclosed
- Peering policy
- Open
- Website
- http://fpl.com
PeeringDB records are maintained by the network operator and are not independently verified. Treat them as a statement of intent rather than of fact. For the observed and recorded view, see peering, which lists the exchanges Packet Clearing House has a port on file for.
Routing security
RPKI and IRR
- RPKI
- 0% valid · 0 valid, 27 with no ROA
- ROAs
- 0 authorising AS10273
- ASPA
- no ASPA record
- IRR
- 0% registered · 0 of 27 announcements 3 other origin
- Route objects
- 0 naming AS10273
Reputation
Classification and threat
Unclassified Not in the curated lists. Most of the ~80,000 allocated ASNs are not.
Spamhaus DROP
Not on ASN-DROP The network as a whole is not listed.
No DROP prefixes None of its announced space is on the DROP prefix list.
Spamhaus DROP ("Don't Route Or Peer") lists space and networks run by, or hijacked for, spam and cybercrime operations: 454 networks and 1,854 prefixes, as published 2026-11-06. A short, high-confidence list, so a match is worth taking seriously, and absence from it says little on its own.
FBI IC3
No IC3 indicators Nothing from the FBI IC3 feed.
IC3 threat data is alpha. Absence of an indicator is not evidence of good behaviour, only of absence from this one feed.
Elsewhere